Drogheda Chess Congress


As many of you know the Drogheda June Congress is going now for the last 22 years. How many of you know that it originated in Wexford back in 1971 where Andrew Thomson was chief organiser and is still involved to this day. When he moved to Drogheda he brought the event with him! A labour of love if ever there was one. It is one of the longest  (if not the longest) running congresses in the country and one we are very proud to host. Over the next while we hope to bring you some of the history of this event. Indeed if there is anyone out there who played in the original years in the 1970’s it would be great to get your memories and would love to post them here.

Below is a photo from the Wexford June Congress of 1972. Do you recognise anyone! Two of these people (Andrew Thomson & Paul Wallace) were involved in this years Congress. Can you pick them out?(Double click on pic to get a bigger and clearer view)

We are also on the hunt for the original perpetual trophy which you can see being held on the bottom left hand side. We are not sure who was last to receive it but it has been missing now for quite some years. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated in hunting it down.

Front Row: Mick Keeshan, Michael Littleton, Art Coldrick, Muninhen, Pumh 2nd row: Gerry Murphy, Brendan Ryan, Doreen O’ Siocriu, Andrew Thomson, Bill Ross. 3rd row: Peter Kelly, Aileen Noonan, Jim Hackett, Hussain Baher, TBA, Paul Wallace. Top row: Michael O’ Briain, Richard Dale, TBA, Elaine Foley, Tony O’ Byrne